Crowded House

Posted on

 

“There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup ”

I think I have reached my limit.  Boxes have started to creep into all of our rooms.  The never ending cycle of phone calls from insurance companies to attorneys.  The beginning of the goodbyes.  My head is kind of a mess right now.  When I have a second to catch up on the massive to do list, I seem to just zone out or walk aimlessly around the house trying to put things where they used to belong.  Part of me loves this change.  We have done this many times now, Wil and I, and there’s a familiarity to it that I find comfort in.  Also, there is a complete chaotic feeling to this which I do not do well with.

Having a house was touch and go this past week as things got a little rocky when dealing with important details.  Then, the painter gasped as he talked to me on the phone about the condition of the walls.  Having only seen the house we just bought two times and both times with furniture and pictures in it, I have no idea what to expect. I have learned many important lessons about buying a home.

 

 

 

Goodbyes….sigh.  We had our last movie night at Good Shepherd and attended a party where we celebrated many things including our time here on Lookout.  Wil did his last 5 o’clock Sunday service and I think we both are just ready.  Everything I do, in the back of my head I know it is the last time I’ll do them in Chattanooga.  All these details and little things will come and go and we are just ready…..nothing like peeling a band aid off slowly.

And then there’s the joy I see in Lilly and Willow.  Lilly told me today that our new grocery store is called the “Piggy Wiggy.”  I just laughed.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. We will miss you… But you gotta grow…..here’ to new adventures, new blessings.. With love and gratitude. The Elders. Thanks for the memories… God is good and speaks thru you both

    Reply
  2. Girl, I am sending you so much love and good wishes for the move. It’s one of the hardest things ever! I still haven’t dealt with some things from my move over a month ago. For example, I’m still paying California car insurance (even though my parents have my car in NC), haven’t changed my address with my banks, and whoever lives in my old apartment has apparently been receiving and sending back my Netflix movies. I hope they’re enjoying them!

    Reply
  3. Amanda, can’t wait for ya’ll to move to Pawleys Island so we can meet you all in person. I have enjoyed looking at your blog. Still laughing about Lilly’s squirrel incident. I have blamed squirrels for many things too!! Tell her there are plenty in the Low Country. We are thinking of you as you make this big life change. Hoping and praying all goes well with your move and that you will be very happy in SC. HCFM has lots of good people and everyone is so excited about this new adventure for us all. See you soon. Brenda Stroup

    Reply

Leave a comment